National Academy of Engineering Elects Indian Americans of Repute


Election to this prestigious NAE is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer

Our Bureau

Washington, DC

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) recently elected 114 new members and 21 international members, as announced by NAE President John L. Anderson. The inclusion of these Indian Americans brings the total U.S. membership to 2,310 and the number of international members to 332.

Panchanathan, Sethuraman, director, National Science Foundation, Alexandria, VA has been elected for multimedia computing for assistive and rehabilitative applications and for leadership at the institutional and national levels.

Prasher, Ravi, chief technology officer, Bloom Energy, San Jose, Calif elected for development of thermal management technologies for microelectronics and the decarbonization of thermal energy systems.

Desai, Tejal A., Sorensen Family Dean, School of Engineering, Brown University, Providence, R.I. for nanofabricated materials to control biologics delivery, and leadership in the fields of nanotechnology and regenerative medicine.

Pradeep, Thalappil, Deepak Parekh Institute Chair Professor and professor of chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai, India as International member for contributions to cluster chemistry and the discovery and implementation of affordable drinking water solutions.

Election to the prestigious National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature” and to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top