Kerala Center Announces Award Winners for 2023


Top row (left to right) Dr. Shyam Kotilil, Sajeeb Koya, Dr. Anna George, Dr. Shelbi Kutty; Bottom row (left to right) Ajay Ghosh, Lata Menon Esq., Jayant Kamicheril and Gopala Pillai

Our Bureau
New York, NY

The Indian American Kerala Cultural and Civic Center, Inc. will honor eight Indian American Malayalees for their outstanding achievements in their field of specialization and for their service to society at its 31st Annual Awards Banquet to be held on October 28, 2023.  Govt. officials and leaders from the USA and India are expected to attend this prestigious event.

“The Kerala Center has been honoring outstanding achievers since 1992. Every year we invite nominations and the committee has to make a unanimous choice for a candidate in a category to receive the award and this year is no different from previous years in terms of their achievements,” said Dr. Thomas Abraham, Kerala Center’s Trustee Board Chairman and Award Committee Member.

“Kerala Center is very happy to honor American Malayalees who excel in their professions and who work for social progress — their examples should be an inspiration for others,” said Dr. Madhu Bhaskaran, Chairman of the Board and Award Committee.

This year’s honorees include Dr. Shyam Kottilil (Baltimore, MD) – Life Time Achievement Award, Sajeeb Koya (Pickering, Ontario, Canada) – Entrepreneurship, Dr. Anna George (Long Island, NY) – Nursing, Shelby Kutty (Baltimore, MD) – Medicine, Gopala Pillai (Dallas, Texas) – Community Service, Ajay Ghosh (Trumbull, CT) – Media and Journalism, Jayant Kamicheril (Reading, PA) – Pravasi Malayalam Literature, and Lata Menon (Mississauga, Ontario, Canda) – Legal Services.

The awardees will be honored at the Kerala Center’s 31st Annual Awards Banquet on Saturday, October 28, 2023, at 5:30 pm at the Kerala Center, 1824 Fairfax St., Elmont, New York. There will be a variety of entertainment programs and a fabulous dinner for the evening.

Dr. Madhu Bhaskaran was the Award Committee Chairman and other members were Dr. Thomas Abraham, Daisy P. Stephen, and Varkey Abraham.

Kerala Center President Alex K. Esthappan said that the Center has recognized over 170 American Malayalees in the last 31 years and it is great to see that they have continued to rise further in their careers and serve the society. All are invited to join this Annual Award Banquet honoring the awardees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top