‘Rocketry’, ‘The Kashmir Files’, ‘Sardar Udham Singh’ win big in National Film Awards 


Alia Bhatt shares the Best Actor (Female) award with Kriti Sanon; Pallavi Joshi bags the Best Supporting Actress for her performance in ‘The Kashmir Files’

Our Bureau
New Delhi

The winners of the 69th National Film Awards were announced on Thursday in New Delhi and actor R Madhavan’s film ‘Rocketry: The Nambi Effect’ won the award for Best Feature Film. Reacting to the great news, Madhavan took to X (formerly known as Twitter) and thanked the jury members for the National award.

He wrote, “Wish you the Happiest Birthday yet Amma.. All yours, Appa’s and Nambi Sirs Blessings. A Heartfelt “Thank You” to all the jury members of the National Award, @MIB_India Shri  @ianuragthakur Ji and all in his team. Thank you for the auspicious, beginning in Cannes. Team Rocketry and @NambiNOfficial  I don’t know what to say. For once Truely speechless.”

‘Rocketry: The Nambi Effect’ is a 2022 Indian biographical drama film written, produced and directed by R Madhavan in his directorial debut. The film is based on the life of Nambi Narayanan, played by Madhavan, a scientist at the Indian Space Research Organisation.

Actor Vicky Kaushal’s film ‘Sardar Udham’ on Thursday won the Best Hindi Film Feature Award at the 69th National Film Awards. Congratulating the entire team of ‘Sardar Udham’, Vicky shared a post on his Instagram account which he captioned, “Congratulations team!!! Honoured and grateful to be a part of #SardarUdham … To Irrfan Sir!”

Helmed by Soojit Sircar, the film was released in 2021 on Prime Video and starred Vicky Kaushal in the lead role. ‘Sardar Udham’ is a biopic of freedom fighter Sardar Udham Singh, who killed Michael O’Dwyer, the former Lieutenant Governor of Punjab in British India in 1940, to avenge the 1919 Jallianwala Bagh massacre.

Actor Alia Bhatt won the Best Actor award (Female) at the 69th National Film Awards for her performance in the film ‘Gangubai Kathiawadi’.

Reacting to the great news, Alia shared a couple of happy pictures on her Instagram and wrote, “To Sanjay Sir..To the entire crew..To my family..To my team & last but most definitely not the least.. To my audience..This national award is yours .. because without you ALL none of this would be possible.. seriously!!! I am SO grateful.. I do not take moments like these lightly.. I hope to continue to entertain for as long as I can..Love and light.. Gangu (also known as alia)”

In the first picture, Alia could be seen posing as her character Gangu.

Alia has shared the Best Actor (Female) award with actor Kriti Sanon who also bagged the title for her performance in the film ‘Mimi’.

Anupam Kher starrer film ‘The Kashmir Files’ won the Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration.

Reacting to the news, director Vivek Agnihotri said, “I am in America and got the news in the morning that ‘The Kashmir Files’ has won the 69th National Award. It is one of the most prestigious awards in our country. I have always said that ‘The Kashmir Files’ is not only my film but it’s a film for all the Kashmiris, who have been the victim of terrorism in the Valley. It’s the voice of plight of Kashmiris who faced terrorism and it’s medium through which their pain was shared with the whole country. I dedicate this award to all the victims of terrorism.”

Helmed by Vivek Agnihotri the film starred Anupam Kher, Pallavi Joshi, Mithun Chakraborty and Darshan Kumaar in the lead roles. Apart from this, actor Pallavi Joshi also bagged the Best Supporting Actress at the 69th National Awards for her performance in the film.

‘The Kashmir Files,’ on the life of Kashmiri Pandits during the 1990 Kashmir insurgency, is based on first-generation video interviews of victims of the Kashmiri massacre, making an account of their pain, suffering, struggle and trauma.

And the winners are…

Best Feature Film: Rocketry

Best Director: Nikhil Mahajan, Godavari

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: RRR

Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration: The Kashmir Files

Best Actor: Allu Arjun, Pushpa

Best Actress: Alia Bhatt, Gangubai Kathiawadi and Kriti Sanon, Mimi

Best Supporting Actor: Pankaj Tripathi, Mimi

Best Supporting Actress: Pallavi Joshi, The Kashmir Files

Best Child Artist: Bhavin Rabari, Chhello Show

Best Screenplay (Original): Shahi Kabir, Nayattu

Best Screenplay (Adapted): Sanjay Leela Bhansali & Utkarshini Vashishtha, Gangubai Kathiawadi

Best Dialogue Writer: Utkarshini Vashishtha & Prakash Kapadia, Gangubai Kathiawadi

Best Music Director (Songs): Devi Sri Prasad, Pushpa

Best Music Direction (Background Music): MM Keeravaani, RRR

Best Male Playback Singer: Kaala Bhairava, RRR

Best Female Playback Singer: Shreya Ghoshal, Iravin Nizhal

Best Lyrics: Chandrabose, Konda Polam’s Dham Dham Dham

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top