The Academy invites Shabana Azmi, Ritesh Sidhwani and SS Rajamouli to 2024 Class


Our Bureau

Los Angeles, CA

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is extending invitations to join the organization to 487 artists, including Shabana Azmi, Ritesh Sidhwani, Ravi Varman, and SS Rajamouli from India. They have contributed immensely and have distinguished themselves by their contributions to motion pictures.

The 2024 invitees for Indian motion picture artists under various categories of selection are as follows:


Shabana Azmi – “Godmother,” “Arth”


Ravi Varman – “Japan,” “Ponniyin Selvan: Part Two”

Costume Designers

Rama Rajamouli – “RRR,” “Baahubali: The Beginning”

Sheetal Sharma – “Gangubai Kathiawadi,” “Kesari”


Rima Das – “Tora’s Husband,” “Village Rockstars”

S.S. Rajamouli – “RRR,” “Eega”


Hemal Trivedi – “Among the Believers,” “Saving Face”


Ritesh Sidhwani – “Gully Boy,” “Dil Chahta Hai”

“We are thrilled to welcome this year’s class of new members to the Academy,” said Academy CEO Bill Kramer and Academy President Janet Yang. “These remarkably talented artists and professionals from around the world have made a significant impact on our filmmaking community.”

From the Indian film industry, A R Rahman, Amitabh Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan, Kajol, Suriya, Vidya Balan, Aamir Khan, Salman Khan, Ali Fazal, Aditya Chopra, Guneet Monga, Reema Kagti, Ekta Kapoor, and Shobha Kapoor are already members of the Academy.

Of the 2024 class, 44% identify as women, 41% belong to underrepresented ethnic/racial communities, and 56% are from 56 countries and territories outside the United States. There are 71 Oscar® nominees, including 19 winners, among the invitees.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is home to a global membership of more than 10,500 of the most accomplished film industry artists and leaders.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top