Live blog: Indian General Elections 2024 results


Preparations underway on the eve of vote counting for the Lok Sabha polls, at Kalmna Market Yard in Nagpur on Monday. (ANI Photo)

As the counting of votes begins at 8 am IST, follow the trends, leads and actual results here live on the blog of Indian Eye

7 30 pm IST

‘Unprecedented moment … People have placed faith in NDA for 3rd time’: PM Modi

The Leads + Won seats tally stands at 292 for NDA and 234 for INDIA

6 30 pm IST

This is people’s verdict, victory for democracy, says Kharge

CPP chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge and party leader Rahul Gandhi address a press conference in Delhi

PM Narendra Modi should immediately resign as he has lost credibility, says West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee

5 30 pm IST

Six Union ministers, including Smriti Irani, staring at defeat in UP

‘Baahubali’ moment for Stalin as DMK-led combine poised for massive win

PM Modi wins by a margin of over 1.5 L votes in Varanasi

4 45 pm IST

INDIA bloc likely to meet in Delhi tomorrow, says Sharad Pawar

‘LJP (Ram Vilas) and our MPs will back the NDA government’, says Chirag Paswan

Rajeev Chandrasekhar concedes defeat to Shashi Tharoor

Mayawati’s BSP trailing in all 80 Lok Sabha seats in UP

3 45 pm IST

Sharad Pawar congratulates opposition’s INDIA bloc

BJP leader Sidharth Nath Singh meets TDP President N Chandrababu Naidu after results

Rahul Gandhi is ahead of his nearest rival, Dinesh Pratap Singh of the BJP, by over 3 lakh vote. In contrast, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is leading by over 1.4 lakh votes against his nearest rival, the Congress’ Ajay Rai, in Varanasi

The leading tally stands at 296 for NDA and 230 for INDIA bloc

3 pm IST

The BJP-led NDA is moving towards a third term, but with far less numbers than what was predicted by exit polls

BJP fails to open account in Tamil Nadu, DMK leads in 21 constituencies; Annamalai trails

BJP trailing in Faizabad constituency where Ayodhya is located

NDA at 292 and INDIA bloc at 233 in leads

 2 30 pm IST

Priyanka Gandhi congratulates Kishori Lal Sharma as he gains huge lead over Smriti Irani

TMC’s Mahua Moitra leading in Krishnanagar with over 60k votes

The leading tally stands at 292 for NDA and 233 for INDIA bloc

1 45 pm IST

Setback for BJP in Hindi Heartlands even as NDA set to get majority

‘BJP-led NDA will form the government once the final results are out’, says Anurag Thakur

Former CM Omar Abdullah trails in the Baramulla constituency of J&K and Union minister Nitin Gadkari leads from Nagpur Lok Sabha

NDA leads in 291, INDIA leads in 231 seats

1 15 pm IST

Rahul Gandhi leading by a huge margin in Wayanad and Rae Bareli

BJP short of majority, its NDA alliance crossing halfway mark

NDA leading in 297 seats whereas INDIA bloc leads in 228 seats

12 45 pm IST

NDA now leads in 295 seats whereas INDIA bloc leading in 227 seats

Smriti Irani trails by over 35k votes in Amethi, Rahul Gandhi leads in Rae Bareli

Lalu Yadav’s daughters and RJD’s candidates Misa Bharti leading while Rohini Acharya trailing in Bihar

12 15 pm IST

NDA leads in Bihar; Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) ahead on 14 seats

NDA leading in 282, INDIA leads in 241 seats

Hema Malini leading in Mathura, Raj Babbar leads in Gurgaon, Manoj Tiwari leads in North East Delhi

11 45 am IST

NDA at 284 and INDIA bloc at 239

INDIA bloc ahead of NDA in Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra; strong Mamta show in Bengal

11 15 am IST

Trends show NDA’s strong show in Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat; close fight in UP and Maharashtra

Akhilesh Yadav, Shashi Tharoor, and Smriti Irani trailing

NDA close to 300, INDIA defies predictions

10 45 am IST

NDA surges ahead but trends reveal strong INDIA bloc’s show in Uttar Pradesh

Congress touches 100-Mark, show early leads, set for biggest tally since 2014

10 15 am IST

NDA crosses 200-mark in early trends, opposition’s INDIA bloc at 150

10 am IST

NDA crosses 200-mark in early trends, opposition’s INDIA bloc at 150

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi leads in Wayanad, Rae Bareli

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is trailing from Varanasi seat as of 9:39am.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is trailing in Varanasi by a margin of over 4,000 votes. Congress’s Ajay Rai is leading.

9 42 am IST

CEC Rajiv Kumar says, “Counting of votes for 542 Constituencies have begun. Our teams are here in the control room to monitor the counting of votes virtually. Our website has around 2 lakh hits per second. We are managing all of that from here. All the ROs have been asked to allow the polling agents and candidates to sit there so that the counting is conducted with transparency.”

NDA leading in 285 seats
INDIA bloc leading in 200 seats

8 57 am IST

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is currently ahead in the Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency, while defence minister Rajnath Singh is leading in Lucknow, as per the ongoing counting of postal ballots

Maharashtra election results: Nitin Gadkari, Piyush Goyal, Supriya Sule leading, early trends show

8 37 am IST

With counting progressing in Lok Sabha polls, the Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance is leading on more than 100 seats as per the latest trends according to TV channels.

8 30 am IST

Early trends show NDA leading in 140 seats. Down 16 seats
INDIA alliance leading in 87 seats. Up by 32 seats

All trends so far based on postal ballots.

EVM counting to begin in 4 minutes.

Trends available for 380 seats now
NDA leading in 230 seats
INDIA bloc leading 141 seats

Trends show NDA down in 38 seats
INDIA bloc up in 53 seats

8 am IST: Postal ballots counting begins

NDA leading in 81 seats
INDIA leading in 50 seats

So far, leads very different from exit polls. Very early trends
EVM counting yet to begin

8 am IST

The mega vote counting for the Lok Sabha elections on June 4 is less than 8 hours away, and preparations are underway in the country. Guidelines have been issued and security systems have been set up at multiple counting centres in different cities for the smooth conduct of the electoral process.

Most exit polls have predicted the return of Prime Minister Narendra Modi to power for a third consecutive term, with the BJP-led NDA expected to win a big majority in the Lok Sabha polls.
On the other hand, INDIA bloc leaders have urged the Election Commission to ensure that postal ballots are counted and their results declared before the outcome of the EVMs is announced.

Trends, leads and results expected soon…

Around 642 million people voted in Lok Sabha elections held over seven phases in a mammoth six-week period. The counting of votes began starting with postal ballot papers amid tight security
The counting for State Legislative Assemblies of 175 Assembly constituencies in Andhra Pradesh and 147 Assembly constituencies in Odisha and results of bypolls in 25 Assembly constituencies also began.
Strict security has been put in place for the smooth conduct of counting of votes for over 8,000 candidates in this general election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top