Team India embarks on their journey to US for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup


Our Bureau


The first batch of Team India which included Captain Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, Suryakumar Yadav and Kuldeep Yadav for the USA ahead of the T20 World Cup 2024, starting on June 1. The support staff along with head coach Rahul Dravid was also present as the team departed to the USA from Mumbai’s Chattrapati Shivaji terminal.

After making a triumphant return following a 15-month hiatus due to a near-fatal car crash, young wicketkeeper-batter Rishabh Pant was seen with the squad as they were leaving for New York for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup on Saturday. Pant enjoyed the adulation of fans and reconnected with his former teammates, taking selfies at Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj International Airport.

On June 9, India will play Pakistan the much-anticipated match at the newly built Nassau County International Cricket Stadium. This stadium took only 3 months to complete, and it has a seating capacity of 34,000. According to a Forbes report, the cost of constructing New York’s cricket stadium is estimated to be around $30 million. The stadium was inaugurated by Usain Bolt, the Olympic legend and tournament ambassador.

The countdown has already begun as the 9th edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup kickstarts from June 1. The West Indies and USA will host the ultimate prize in T20 cricket, with the event featuring 20 teams competing across 55 games for the right to be crowned ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 champions.

Indian team includes batters: Rohit Sharma (captain), Virat Kohli, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Suryakumar Yadav; Wicketkeepers: Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson; All-rounders: Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Shivam Dube, Axar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja; Bowlers: Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj.

Meanwhile, hosts USA have named their 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. Led by 31-year-old wicket-keeper batter Monank Patel, USA’s squad features some familiar names alongside performers from the recent T20I series against Canada, which they won 4-0.

India start their campaign against Ireland on June 4.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top