Renu Mehta


The TIFF Tribute Awards honour the film industry’s outstanding contributors and their achievements, recognizing leading industry members, acting talent, directorial expertise, new talent, and a below-the-line artist and creator. The Awards also serve as TIFF’s largest annual fundraiser to support TIFF’s year-round programmes and core mission to transform the way people see the world through film. This year’s event will raise funds for TIFF’s diversity, equity, and inclusion initiative and champion a safe, community-focused, and inspiring return to cinemas.

In 2020, the TIFF Tribute Awards celebrated the remarkable talents and contributions of Mira Nair, Sir Anthony Hopkins, Kate Winslet, Chloé Zhao, Terence Blanchard, and Tracey Deer, some of whom went on to win awards on the international stage.   Nair was awarded the Jeff Skoll Award in Impact Media supported by Participant Media

Audiences will be able to tune in to the 2021 TIFF Tribute Awards on Saturday, September 18 at 7pm ET, 8pm AT on CTV, and the CTV app in Canada, on the final day of the 46th edition of the Toronto International Film Festival. The broadcast will also be streamed to a global audience by Variety.

New this year: The People’s Choice Award and the Platform Jury Prize will be broadcast live during the event.  The 2021 TIFF Tribute Award recipients are:

Jessica Chastain

TIFF Tribute Actor Award supported by the Tory Family

Benedict Cumberbatch

TIFF Tribute Actor Award

Denis Villeneuve

TIFF Ebert Director Award

Alanis Obomsawin

Jeff Skoll Award in Impact Media supported by Participant Media

Danis Goulet

TIFF Emerging Talent Award presented by L’Oréal Paris and supported by MGM

Ari Wegner

TIFF Variety Artisan Award

Dionne Warwick

TIFF Special Tribute Award

The 2021 TIFF Tribute Awards show is co-produced by Bell Media Studios

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top